Rally Fleet

Background on the Challenge:
The Hobie Challenge is one of the most exciting events in the Philippine sailing calendar.  It was started in 1999 by a group of sailors who wanted to combine exploring the country with a fun factor while doing so.  They chose exciting routes through beautiful islands at times of the year when one can expect mostly strong winds: hence the expression “Challenge”.  Regular participants have seen more of the Philippines than most other people!  Much has already been written on these events and can be seen on a number of websites.  See www.hobiechallenge.ph/12

David Wheeler – with Free Wheeler in El Nido

Background on the Rally:
By 2003 the very success of the “Challenge” was becoming a concern.  As more boats entered, the commitment to maintaining the challenge element brought mounting safety issues.  A decision was taken to open the event to support yachts that would patrol the extremities of the courses to keep watch on the Hobie fleet and provide radio links between the race officer and rescue teams.  The first event to be run this way was in 2004 from Boracay to Palawan via Amanpulo.  It had a support fleet of two keelboats.  Since then, there have been up to five cruising yachts taking part each year.

Both the Hobie Challenge and the Rally also aims to illustrate what a wonderful sport sailing is.  Particularly here in the Philippines where the weather is perfect and many of the best cruising areas in Asia, if not the world!  It should encourage more, particularly young people, to join the sport.  See also www.phinsailing.ph

Notes for potential participants in 2013:
Cruising boats, of all types, whether sail or power and regardless of the number of hulls are welcome.  All that is asked for is a generous spirit of involvement.  The rally fleet has grown from the Hobie beginnings and all boats will be welcomed to join beach parties and other events.

All boats will be requested to keep radio watch during the event and some may be asked to join the support group for other activities such as taking times at mark rounding.  Please advise race management if you will be willing to undertake these duties.

Boat owners need just to be sure your vessel is also up to the Challenge in terms of maintenance and crew abilities.   One major advantage in sailing in a group is that in the event anyone has difficulties someone will likely be in a position to help.  We do however try and keep such requirements to a minimum!

We are most fortunate that in 2013 the rally is reasonably nearby.  It is often quite a voyage to get to and from the event that can add a strain to time and other constraints.  Not this year, we start a days sail from the entrance to Subic Bay and finish at Anvaya Cove just South of Subic Bay.   What is more there will be opportunities for staying ashore for anyone who would like that.

Please click on the following links for the entry documents:

NoR Rally 2013 – Version 2 – 11 Jan 2013    – all changes hi-lighted in yellow
Rally Fleet – Entry Form – 2013
Dear Rally Participants 2013

Any questions please email to David Wheeler freewheeleronline@hotmail.com

Please check the following links for information:
Race Itinerary
Route Map

Previous Challenges:

HC1    2000   Lucena to Boracay                  HC2    2001   Maya Maya to Maricaban
HC3    2002   Vigan to Subic                        HC4    2003   Donsol to Alegre, Cebu
HC5    2004   Boracay  to Club Paradise     HC6    2005   Malapascua to Panglao Is
HC7    2006   San Jose to Boracay               HC8    2007   Hermana Major to Club Paradise
HC9    2008   Sorsogon to Surigao               HC10  2009   Laiya to Boracay
HC11  2011   Lucena to Boracay                 HC12  2012   Coron to El Nido

Rally fleet participants in 2012:
– Tututango owned by Jun Villanueva
– Freewheeler owned by David Wheeler
– The Judge owned by Renie Ticson
– Pursuit owned by Tony Gonzalez
– Irresistible owned by Harry Taylor
– Paraluman owned by Raul Bulaong
– Tiburon owned by Ramon Garcia.

Lagoon cats joining the 2012 rally:
– Double Trouble owned by Roban Wyatt
– Zamboanga owned by Freddie Garcia
– Lulu owned by Chut Cuerva
– Querida Mia owned by Eric Puno
– Mee Mee owned by Tong Ang